Due to the outbreak of COVID-19, the North Carolina Board for Licensing of Geologists' office will be closed to the public until further notice. Board staff are working remotely and we have technology in place allowing the day-to-day operations of the Board to continue without interruption.


The North Carolina Board for the Licensing of Geologists provides information to interested parties about geology licenses for individuals and corporations. Contact the Board for information on licensing requirements, examination dates or other administrative information. See the Board's meeting schedule for dates and locations of the examination.

2020 Board Members

Steve Stadelman
Term Expires: 6/30/2023
Novozymes North America, Inc.
100 Waiters Way
Youngsville, NC 27596
Phone: (919) 495-0333
Vice Chair:
Rachel Kirkman
Term Expires: 6/30/2021
Golder Associates NC, Inc.
4402 Suffolk Trail
Greensboro, NC 27407
Phone: (336) 852-4903
Secretary-Treasurer: State Geologist:
Kenneth Belk Taylor
Ex Officio
N.C. DEQ - N.C. Geological Survey
1612 Mail Service Center
Raleigh, NC 27699-1612
Phone: (919) 707-9211
Dennis J. LaPoint
Term Expires: 6/30/2023

9601 Gates Lane
Chapel Hill, NC 27516
Phone: (919) 969-9594
Richard K. Spruill
Term Expires: 6/30/2022
Groundwater Management Associates, Inc.
2205-A Candun Drive
Apex, NC 27523
Phone: (252) 531-0778
Public Member:
Robert Mensah-Biney
Term Expires: 6/30/2023

180 Coxe Avenue
Asheville, NC 28801
Phone: (828) 251-6155 ext. 224
Legal Counsel:
Sarah Zambon
NC Department of Justice
P.O. Box 629
Raleigh, NC 27602
Phone: (919) 716-6600
Executive Director:
Barbara U. Geiger
NC Board for Licensing of Geologists
P.O. Box 41225
Raleigh, NC 27629-1225
Phone: (919) 850-9669

* Members are appointed by the Governor and serve until replaced.